Skip to main content

Chair of Core Group

The Core Group of the SSAR Support Platform was set up with the aim to mobilize a diverse range of key stakeholders, galvanize political, financial, and technical support for the SSAR’s implementation, and raise visibility of the Afghan situation.

An Inaugural Meeting of the Core Group of the Support Platform for the Solutions Strategy for Afghan Refugees (SSAR) with the SSAR Quadripartite Steering Committee was held on 7 October 2021. This was an opportunity to discuss policy and operational priorities of the Support Platform for the way forward in 2021.

The European Union became the Core Group’s first chair and is represented by its three main services for external action - the European External Action Service (EEAS), the Directorate-General for International Partnerships (DG INTPA) and the Directorate-General for Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (DG ECHO). A regional workplan was endorsed by the Core Group at its first meeting under the chairmanship of the European Union on 19 April 2021.

The current members of the Core Group are: European Union (as Chair), Asian Development Bank, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Japan, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United Nations Development Programme, United States of America, and the World Bank.

The Core Group chair rotates on an annual basis.

Learn more about the Core Group

Learn more about the Local Core Groups